Screenings

Dance of the Maize God Screenings
HOME |SCREENINGS | REVIEWS | PRESS KIT | TRAILER

Dance of the Maize God (96 min)

Screening at universities, museums and film festivals around the country and internationally.  Screenings are accompanied by panel discussions exploring a variety of perspectives on the excavation, looting, study, collection, and exhibition of ancient Maya art, as well as discussions exploring the royal life and rich mythology depicted on the vases. If your organization would like to host a screening, in English or in Spanish, please contact us.

SCREENING SCHEDULE:

October 2015
CINARCHEA INTERNATIONAL ARCHAEOLOGY FILM FESTIVAL
October 17, 7:20 PM
Archäologisches Landesmuseum Brandenburg
Brandenburg an der Havel, Germany

September 2015
GARDINER MUSEUM
Tuesday September 8, 6:00 PM
The Diane Wolfe Lecture
111 Queen’s Park
Toronto, Ontario
Canada

Screening followed by discussion with Siobhan Boyd, Gardiner Education Program Manager and Archaeologist; Maya Archaeologists Drs. Helen Haines and Gyles Iannone; and David Lebrun

June 2015
14th RAI INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL OF ETHNOGRAPHIC FILM BRISTOL
Thursday, June 18, 11:00 AM
Cinema 3
Bristol, UK

May 2015
ORGANISATIONSTEAM ARCHAOWORKS UND-SKILLS
Saturday, May 9, 6:00 PM
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Berlin, Germany

April 2015
BOWERS MUSEUM
Thursday, April 9, 1:30 PM
Santa Ana, CA

Followed by Q&A with director David Lebrun

MONTANA STATE UNIVERSITY
Wednesday, April 1, 6:00 PM
Montana State University
Bozeman, MT

Followed by Q&A with director David Lebrun 

March 2015
2015 INTERNATIONAL ARCHAEOLOGY FILM FESTIVAL
Saturday, March 28, 7:00 PM
Phillip England Center for the Performing Arts
Camp Verde, AZ

Followed by Q&A with director David Lebrun

2015 INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL OF ARCHAEOLOGY NYON
Thursday, March 26, 4:50 PM
Nyon, Switzerland

February 2015
THE GETTY CENTER
Sunday, February 1, 2:00 PM
Harold M. Williams Auditorium
Los Angeles, CA

Panel discussion with Claire Lyons, J. Paul Getty Museum
Matthew Robb, Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
Kevin Terraciano, University of California, Los Angeles
Sofía Paredes Maury, La Ruta Maya Foundation

January 2015
ETHNOLOGICAL MUSEUM OF BERLIN
Thursday, January 29, 6:30 PM
Dahlem Museums
Berlin, Germany

SCIENCE MUSEUM OF MINNESOTA
Friday, January 23, 6:30 PM
Saturday, January 24, 3:30 PM
Science Museum of Minnesota
Saint Paul, MN

Friday screening followed by discussion with art history professor Kaylee Spencer, archaeologist and scholar Brent Woodfill, producer Rosey Guthrie, moderated by curator of archaeology Ed Fleming.  Sponsored by the Maya Society of Minnesota.

December 2014
“CINEMA VERITE” IRAN INTERNATIONAL DOCUMENTARY FILM FESTIVAL
Friday, December 5, 4:15 PM
Cinema Verite Iran International Documentary Film Festival
FELESTIN Cinema
Tehran, Iran

November 2014
UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, BERKELEY
Monday, November 24, 6:00 PM
UC Berkeley
Berkeley, CA

Followed by Q&A with director David Lebrun, Matthew Robb, curator, de Young Museum, and Carla Shapreau, professor, Boalt Law School 

INTERNATIONAL ARCHAEOLOGICAL FILM FESTIVAL OF BIDASOA
winner of SPECIAL AUDIENCE PRIZE
Thursday, November 20, 7:30 PM
Amaia Cultural Center, Auditorium
Oiasso Roman Museum, City of Irun
Gipuzkoa/Basque province, Spain

19TH EUROPEAN MAYA CONFERENCE
Tuesday, November 18, 7:30 PM
Bratislava, Slovakia

THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICAGO
Thursday, November 13, 7:00 PM
Film Studies Center
Chicago, IL

Followed by Q&A with director David Lebrun and Claudia Brittenham, Professor of Art History 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS-CHICAGO
Wednesday, November 12, 1:00 PM
University of Illinois-Chicago
Chicago, IL

Followed by Q&A with director David Lebrun and Virginia E. Miller, Associate Professor of Art History 

MICHAEL C. CARLOS MUSEUM
Tuesday, November 4, 7:30 PM
Emory University
Atlanta, GA

October 2014
2014 ARKHAIOS CULTURAL HERITAGE AND ARCHAEOLOGY FILM FESTIVAL
winner of BEST ARCHAEOLOGY FILM
Saturday, October 25, 1:05 PM
Hilton Head, SC

ICRONOS FILM FESTIVAL
October 24, 4:00 PM
Bordeaux, France

XXIII INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL OF ETHNOLOGICAL FILM
Saturday, October 18, 4:00 PM
Ethnographic Museum in Belgrade
Belgrade, Serbia

INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL OF ARCHAEOLOGICAL FILM
winner of BEST FILM
Friday, October 10, 8:45 PM
Fausto Melotti Auditorium
Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art
Rovereto, Italy

September 2014
UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Sunday, September 14, 4:00 PM
Norris Theater
Los Angeles, CA

May 2014
THE ARCHAEOLOGY CHANNEL INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL
winner of BEST FILM JURY AWARD
Saturday, May 10, 8:15 PM
Recital Hall, The Shedd Institute
Eugene, OR
Followed by a workshop on Monday May 12

CSULA (CAL STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES)
Thursday, May 22, 6:30 PM
La Kretz Hall
Los Angeles, CA
Followed by a panel discussion 

April 2014
BEACH MUSEUM OF ART
Friday, April 4, 7:00 PM
UMB Theater, Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS
Followed by Q&A with the filmmakers 

March 2014
11TH ANNUAL TULANE MAYA SYMPOSIUM
Saturday, March 22, 4:00 PM
Middle American Research Institute, Tulane University
New Orleans, LA

INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL OF FILMS ON ART (FIFA)
Saturday, March 29 at 4:00 PM
Musée McCord – Théâtre J. Armand Bombardier
Montreal, Canada

February 2014
SAN ANTONIO CINEFESTIVAL
Sunday, February 23, 4:00 PM
Guadalupe Performing Arts Center
San Antonio, TX

January 2014
UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS MAYA MEETINGS
Friday, January 10 7:30 PM
Casa Herrera
Antigua, Guatemala
Special Preview Screening, followed by Q&A with the filmmakers 

February 2013
PRINCETON UNIVERSITY ART MUSEUM
Friday, February 15 7:30 PM
Princeton, NJ
Work-in-Progress Screening, followed by Q&A with the filmmakers